## Deer Valley Women's Golf Club Christmas Luncheon & Meeting - December 6, 2023 Webb Room at The Foundation Building

The meeting was called to order at 12 pm, by President, Teresa Pirkl.

Teresa welcomed everyone in attendance. The list of attendees is attached.

The first order of business was to approve the minutes of the October 24th, 2023, General Membership meeting held at Deer Valley Golf Course.

Cheryl Sherwood moved that the minutes be approved as submitted and Carla James seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved by vote.

The treasurer's report was given by Treasurer, Cheryl Sherwood. She reported that the online renewals were going well and that if anyone needed help to do so, to contact Membership Chair, Janice Runnels.

Teresa asked for a motion that Margie Zener be approved as Auditor of DVWGC's 2023 books. Cheryl Sherwood moved that Margie be approved and Carla James seconded. She was unanimously approved by vote.

Teresa introduced the New Members joining Deer Valley in 2023

Gloria Arra, Sandy Arthur, Donna Bytwork, Cathy Dixon, Rita Douglas, Ann Franck, Carla James, Lisa McMullen, Sylvia Meyer, Lynn Rushing, Shirley Siegel, Joanne Sykes, Connie Waggoner, Jenifer Willman, Sue Woodward

Marlene Gates announced that raffle ticket sales would be cut off soon so to be sure to purchase them if you want some. The raffle will benefit the POSSE.

Marlene also thanked the Caterer and the meeting was temporarily suspended while lunch was served.

Following lunch, the meeting resumed.

Teresa thanked Marlene Gates, Chairperson of the Social Committee and her committee members: Karen Jones, who will be taking over Marlene's position as chair for the coming year, Sue Duncan, Marie Krause, Karla Millinovich, Jean Sturm, Marsha Ross, & Martha Jacobs.

President, Teresa Pirkl, Introduced and thanked the Executive Board for 2023 and the Committee Members for 2023. They are as follows:

Vice President: Sherry Skogrand, Treasurer: Cheryl Sherwood, Secretary: Cathy Lowman, Website Content Manager: Linda Leng, AGA Representative: Nancy Ward/Sherry Skogrand, Birdies/Chip Ins: Pam Gwin, Birthdays: Teresa Gasaway, Bulletin Board: Joan Chiaputti and Julie Kanouse, GAGD Representative: Marsha Ross, Directory, Membership/New Member Orientation: Janice Runnels, Handicaps: Linda Leng, Photographer: Pat Roberts, Publicity: Marla Duffield, Ringers: Joanne Powell, Rules: Patti Anderson, Safety: Teresa Pirkl, Social: Marlene Gates assisted by her previously acknowledged committee, Sunshine: Terry Nicks, Team Play: Chris Falasco, Tournaments: Lois Petrik, along with Peg Wynkoop, Dorine Murray, and Sharon Powell, Advisor: Vickie Mitchell, GPDT: Pepper Trautman, Monitor: Jim Dewitt.

Marsha Ross asked to speak briefly on CAGD. She said CAGD stands for Central Arizona Golf District. It is an all volunteer, non-profit organization that offers women of all skill levels a chance to compete and have fun playing golf. If you have an official GHIN handicap and are a member of a sanctioned women's league associated with the Arizona Golf Association you are eligible & welcome to join and participate in tournaments. It is \$8.00 to join and they host 5-6 tournaments per year. There are 5 blind draw events which are held by local leagues at their own clubs one day a month during Blind Draw months. Cash is paid out to winners. For more information, Marsha suggested visiting their website at cagdgolf.org.

Teresa announced members volunteering for 2024 committee positions:

Karen Jones: Social Chair (replacing Marlene Gates), Mary Lawson: Chip ins and Birdies (replacing Pam Gwin), & Marlene Gates: GPDT (replacing Pepper Trautman).

Teresa thanked Joan Chiaputti and Julie Kanouse for stepping up mid-year to do the bulletin boards. They are doing an excellent job.

Teresa acknowledged Past Presidents who were in attendance.

Awards winners were announced by Teresa Pirkl and handed out by Sherry Skogrand.

Medallion Winners of 2023 were:

Sherry Skogrand and Mary Ellen Petersen. They will be playing in the Statewide Medallion Tournament in January 2024.

Most Improved Players of 2023 were:

Betty Larson - December 1, 2022 to June 1, 2023. From 27.3 to 20.3

Marcy Kaufman - June 1, 2023 to November 15, 2023 from 24.3 to 20.5.

Milestone Awards:

Broke 80 - None

Broke 90 - Karen Schmitt, January, Gloria Arra, January, Carla James, January, Marcy Kaufman, June.

Broke 100 - Sylvia Meyer, December, Sandy Young, March, Julie Kanouse, April, Janet Arnold, April, Shirley Siegel, April, Mariann Hunt, April, Eileen Fredberg, May. Appropriate pins were handed out. Birdies/Chip Ins/Eagles/Holes in One and First Birdies at DVWGC- Announced by Pam Gwin There were 348 Birdies and 220 Chip Ins. There was 1 Eagle, by Marie Iverson, and 2 Holes in One by Sherry Skogrand and Mary Gaynett. Appropriate pins and monetary awards were handed out. Teresa will give the DV starters and our monitor, Jim Dewitt, their Thank you gifts on Tuesday as none could be in attendance today. Installation of the 2024 Officers was done by Janice Runnels. The 50/50 Raffle and Centerpiece giveaway was done by Marlene Gates. Sherry Skogrand presented, Teresa Pirkl, with her Thank You/Appreciation Gift. Teresa gave a touching parting speech as outgoing President. The meeting and luncheon were adjourned by 2024 President, Sherry Skogrand at approximately 1 pm. Respectfully submitted by, Cathy Lowman Secretary

## 2023 Holiday Luncheon/ DVW Golf

Adams, Lynn Ambrose, Lois Ambourn, Joye Aumell, Mary

Hoffert, Patti Henry, Betty Hunt, Mariann Hodson, Candace

Pirkl, Teresa Powell, Sharon Petersen, Mary Ellen Petrik, Lois

Beall, Debi Bachicha, Rosie Barnes, Terry Bryan, Ann Beebe, Sue

Iverson, Marie

Jacobs, Martha

James, Carla

Jones, Karen

Petrik, Lois
Powell, Joanne
Patton, Connie
Peterson, Kathleen
Peterson, Shelley
Perry, Jerry
Pickles, Brenda
Pedersen, Denise

Campbell, Alice Craig, Colleen Coon, Kathy Chase, Cathleen Cramer, Karolyn Chiapputi, Joan

Kaufman, Marcy Krause, Marie Kelly, Sue

Runnels, Janice Roberts, Pat Ross, Marsha

Deel, Nancy Dixon, Susan Dunford, Mary Dubay, Bobbie Dunbar, Arlette Langtry, Dot Lowman, Cathy Leng, Linda Lawson, Mary Larson, Betty Logan, Carol Smith, Teresa
Smith, Sue
Sherwood, Cheryl
Smalldon, Marie
Smalldon, Ruth
Sturm, Jean
Skogrand, Sherry
Snider, Lorraine
Stannebein, Marlys
Siegel, Shirley

Furhop, Marcia
Friday, Carol
Falasco, Chris – 100 Luri V H
Freydberg, Eileen
Forsberg, Ruth

Mezzanatto, Eva Milinovich, Karla Mitchell, Vicki Morris, Charlene Meyer, Sylvia Merrall, Diane McMullen, Lisa Melby, Gloria

Trautman, Pepper Taylor, Sharon Taylor, Pam

Studley, Marilee

Gates, Marlene Gaynett, Mary Gillette, Michaele Groen, Jody Goodrum, Janet Goodman, Carolyn Gwin, Pam Gray, Judy

Gasaway, Teresa

Nicks, Terry Novak, Jean

Vanstrydonck, MaryAnn Vlk, Cassie

Ulbricht, Joyce

Oliphant, Margaret O"Neal, Connie

Woosley, Dawn Wilbur, Diane Wynkoop, Peg WARK MERRIDEE WRAY, BONNIE

Young, Sandy Zener, Margie Zaffke, Patricia